and now we dance

Just for the record, it’s hard to be back in the States. Trying to keep the memory of everything that happened really on my mind, but going back to work was a big challenge today. I want to follow God wherever He leads but I struggle with wanting to tell Him what I think He should do. It’s hard to not want to unpack my story all at once. But, on to Day 2…

Day 2 — Sunday, March 6

It felt like life began in Africa today. This morning, we joined Pastor Eddie’s congregation at Deipsooth, a settlement in the black community. The warm tent was already filled with the sounds of worship when our van pulled up. We were greeted and then kindly ushered in to worship. A sweet young guy tried to shake my hand the “cool insider South African way”, but it is clear that I am not an insider yet. Whoops on that one.

Worship was so sweet. The singers, keyboard player and drummer all have the love and the joy of the Lord all over them. Women and children are coming to the front dancing in a circle, and there is no question that the joy of Jesus in that place.  It was refreshing to be so free in a long lingering time of worship.

Somehow, (with the encouragement of our lovely beautiful missionary/converted South African, Jeanetta), I ended up at the front dancing with some of the other women in the church. It was great, but suddenly, the congregation sat down and it was announced that the “mommies” were going to sing a song to the church. Oh no. I’m at the front of the church with the “mommies.” A dear woman in a red dress quickly grabbed my hand and said “it’s ok, you can stay.” Ha. We then began to worship with a song and dance. I tried to keep up. The congregation cheered every time I attempted the dance moves correctly. I am sure there is a lovely video of this moment floating around somewhere.

Pastor Eddie brought a great message from the Word, and I was blessed for the chance to connect with him after the services. He asked me to sing a song, but I was too embarrassed, and asked if I could revisit him on Tuesday to sing. (Story to come…)

We enjoyed a fun lunch with new friends in the afternoon, and then headed to Mosaiek (our partner church in Joburg) for their evening services. By the time we got home, I was really thankful for the way we had met with the Lord. He was showing up all over the place — in worship, in new friendships, in dances and smiles, and in deep heart conversations. I am blessed.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “and now we dance

  1. Paula Irwin

    Kristin, this sounds like a fabulous and inspirational experience. I’m so delighted for you! You are
    such an awesome girl with so much to give this world, and I feel so blessed to have had you as an intern and gotten to know you. I hope you’ll always stay in touch……I want to keep up with your
    wonderful life and follow your journey of faity.

    Love,
    Paula

  2. Paula Irwin

    …….journey of faith.

Leave a comment